Dragon Doggerel from Dr. Seuss

A fragment from Masterharper Geisel of Pern:

(with apologies to Anne McCaffrey)

LEARN ON PERN

Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 8.17.10 PM

Dragon

One dragon
Two dragon
Green dragon
Blue dragon.

Bronze dragon
Gold dragon
New dragon
Old dragon.

This one has a horse-like head.
This one has a wide wing spread.
And all of them
Like to be fed.

Yes. Some are brown. And some are blue.
Some are old. And some are new.

Some are led
And some are head
But all of them like burning thread.

Screen Shot 2018-05-20 at 8.19.41 PM

‘Nother dragon

Why do they
Like burning thread?
I think I know.
It could be bred.

Some are fast
And some are slow.
The slow one has
No chance as beau.

From there to here,
From here to there.
Flying things
Are everywhere.

Here are some
Who like to fly.
They fly so high
In the hot, hot sky.

Oh me! Oh my!
Oh me! Oh my!
What a lot
Of flying things go by.

Some have two turns
And some have four.
Some have six turns
And some have more.

Where do they come from? I can’t say.
But I bet recombinant DNA.

We see them come.
We see them go.

Yet another dragon

Some are fast.
And some are slow.

Some flame hot
And some flame cold.
Not one of them
Will likely smolder.
Don’t ask me why.
Go ask your holder.

Oh, here and there!
Oh, there and here!
What a lot
Of dragons in the weyr.

 

screen-shot-2018-05-20-at-8-17-45-pm-e1526936320944.png

Bonus from G’lett Burgess

I never rode a Dragon Gold,

I’d really like to ride one;

But if I am to be consoled,

To me, a Bronze, provide one.

 

Be sure to check out Eugene’s meeting notes on the Beamers’ May 2018 reading of Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonflight.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Oh, the Places You’ll Boldly Go! – Alan N. Walter, Counsel

    Leave a comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.