Women of Speculative Fiction

Jesse, SF resident and SF reader, has asked me for my favorite women sf writers.

Perhaps I’m wishy-washy, but I have a hard time picking favorites. Sometimes I want an orange, sometimes I want an apple and sometimes I want a banana. (However, I never want a kiwi.)

So, Jesse, in no particular order, I’m going to suggest you take a look at Ursula Le Guin, Octavia Butler, C.J. Cherryh, Terri Windling, Madeleine L’Engle, Anne McCaffrey, Sherri Tepper, Pat Cadigan and Joanna Russ. My apologies to the many fine authors I’ve failed to mention.

Goodreads’ list of hundreds of science fiction and fantasy women authors, with clickable links to reviews, would be a good place to do some investigating.

4 Comments

  1. Jesse from SF

    Thanks, Alan! Now, which to read first…

  2. Eugene R.

    Hmm, a picture of Lilith makes me think of Tanith Lee, though I would place her closer to the fantasy end of the spectrum.

    And we could drive poor Jesse crazy with great choices for reading: Connie Willis, anyone? Maureen McHugh. We can even Include some “Golden Oldies”: Leigh Brackett, C(atherine) L. Moore. Go to town, Jesse!

    • I see your CL Moore and raise you with Mary Shelley.

      • Eugene R.

        Well, in that case, I must either fold or … raise you Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle and author of The Blazing World, a utopian novel from 1666. Hmm. I fold.

Leave a Reply

